The gestation period for upcoming show….

Sea Star made with locally sourced clay once fired to Cone 04 electric- Terra sigillatta and stains

Sea Star made with locally sourced clay once fired to Cone 04 electric- Terra Sigillatta and stains

To me there is always more than what you see the first time you look. I spend lots of time with the 'invisible' and the underworld. It's quite healing.

To me there is always more than what you see the first time you look. I spend lots of time with the ‘invisible’ and the underworld. It’s quite healing.

I applied for a solo show at the Harlow Gallery in Hallowell, Maine and was accepted. The show will be in August 2016.  It will take me 2 years to put this together. I wanted to take my time and let it evolve without undue stress on my life, my body, my kids.  Instead of trying to do too much I am opting to slow it all down.  It seems like a fine idea to keep a journal of this process and recognize the people who are helping me make it happen.  So a big thank you to the folks at the Harlow Gallery for encouraging me to apply and in general being there to support local artists.

I’ve been thinking a lot about what I’d like to say with this show and how I am going to do that. The starting point is ‘what connects us’. I’ve been reading a lot about alchemy and mysticism and those who know me, know that I am always reading astrology and psychology books. The seemingly inconsequential conversations, feelings and disagreements that we have everyday become case studies for me and I acknowledge them in my work, my dreams, and my own alchemical process so in that way, I have everyone in my life to thank for helping with this show.  The show in itself is a microcosm of my larger experience.

Yesterday I met with Jack Gilmore about creating molds for some of the pieces and in my conversation with him realized that I am hoping to create an underworld and to make that underworld visible, maybe even inhabitable.  Clay is technically challenging and so I am attempting to create in a smarter and more efficient manner. I usually muscle through things, but this time I’d like to do it with more finesse and professionalism. I am hoping that by planning ahead and giving myself some space in my life to create that I will succeed.  Space to create…  That’s good.  I better write that one down so I can remember that.  It’s a good first step.

Leave a Reply

