Feb 13, 2012 Mudmobile, Pots, Classes

Watershed Mudmobile school project with Malley

Studio update.  I’ve been working hard coming up with some new ideas for work to bring to CraftBoston.  I’ve also been doing some work for Watershed Center for the Ceramic Arts http://www.watershedceramics.org  They have a ‘Mudmobile’ which is basically a mobile clay classroom.  This time I went up to Rumford and worked with the kids from Holy Saviour.  What a great little school they have there.  Anyway, I was raised Catholic and did the whole Catholic School bit myself, so I wanted to do something that was always special to me.  I am a sucker for churches.  I love the architecture, the alters, the pillars, the woodwork, the pews and of course, the stained glass windows. These are some examples of what we did and when I got back to my studio I knew that I had to do some of those myself, not with religious themes, but more of the cathedral of the outdoors that I really love.  I think the kids did a great job, we all had fun and I’ll be delivering their pots back to them soon.  They are in the kiln as we speak.  If you are interested in having the Mudmobile come to your school check out their website or call 207-882-6075.

Stained Glass Window 3x6" Maine Clay

 

I’ve also been trying out a new theme of tall thin bottles. I’ve been carving intricate designs on them mostly inspired by microscopic sea creatures.  The designs in nature are spectacular.  It has been great fun.  I have a few tea pot designs in the works as well.  I decided to really step it up for this Boston show.  I want to make the best work I can, take my time, and enjoy the process.  The idea of slogging out a million pots just doesn’t appeal to me.  These are special.  I know I don’t have a whole lot of time to screw around, so I’ll just make what I can in the next few weeks and see what happens.  It is a little nerve wracking to work in such a professional arena, but I am feeling good about my work, my process, and how folks have been responding.  Thank you!

Malley's bottles and closed forms for teapots

I am also thinking about running a 6 week class starting in April.  I know I’ve been waffling on this lately, but I miss teaching.  I miss helping people figure out how to make their hands do what their brains want them to do.  If you are interested let me know.  I am only taking 4 students.  Classes will be on Wednesday evenings 6-8:30.  You can email me at hallowellclayworks@myfairpoint.net

Leave a Reply

