Dec. 18th, 2011

Gathering clay for creating

My new Year’s resolution will be to post more about what is going on.  It’s almost Christmas and this fall has been a blur.  It’s all been very good.  I was accepted into the Maine Crafts Guild at the November show at the Maine State Museum.  I also reconnected with some of the folks at MOFGA (the Maine Organic Farmers and Growers Association) about doing some more products for their country store.  If you don’t know Mofga check them out at www.mofga.org  They are one of my favorite organizations.   I also had the pleasure of creating special mugs for the Natural Resource Council of Maine for their annual Polar Dip and Dash.  Save the environment and jump into icy water after a big run on December 31st, 2011.  It’s a great cause and one very close to my heart. Check them out at www.nrcm.org    Iseem to specialize in the organic, environmental movement….hmmmm.  I like that.

Since I haven’t written in a while this feels like a good excersise to recap all the good things that have happened.  I had a great clay dig outing with some amazing folks.  Thanks so much to Deb and Connor Fahy, Claudia and Noel, Rusty, and Debbie Caldwell.  It was a beautiful day along the Androscoggin River and we gathered a 1000 lbs of glacial marine clay. That helps me get through the winter until clay digging season comes around again.  It was nice to share my sacred clay space with such positive people.  I am very grateful for all of their help.

Other good things… Liz Profetty and I BOTH got into the CraftBoston Spring show!  Wow!  We are excited to show off our stuff to a new crowd.  We took the train down to the Holiday Craft Boston show last weekend to scope it out and I am pleased that my booth will work nicely and look really good.  Can’t wait to create some new work to debut!

I also applied to be a presenter at the PechaKucha at the Waterville Opera House in January and I was accepted.  They liked what I do and now I get 6 minutes of fame. 20 slides 20 seconds per slide.  Thus gives me a chance to perfect my elevator speech and present to a few hundred people.  I think I will skip the acapella version of my performance this time.  Maybe.   

I have a great opportunity to take a business workshop with Jim Lyons from Action Coaching in Falmouth.  It’s a chance to set-up an action schedule for 90 days for the business.  I am going to need some help organizing because I have alot going on.  I didn’t mention the dvd…. I am working on a dvd for digging clay and making simple forms for beginners.  It should be out this spring.  OK, I think that’s it…..  Yeah, I know, it’s a busy time, but it’s fun and I can’t imagine doing anything else. 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

