Sept. 30th-After the fair! (the first one)

Malley Mug made with maine clay $40-

The booth

I can’t believe how time flies. I wish that I had been writing everyday because it would be so interesting to go back and relive this whole experience. I will try to write more often. I think the last time I wrote I had just gotten into the fair (The Common Ground Country Fair), which in my book is the fair of all fairs. Well the last few months, yeah months…. has been wondering HOW the heck was I going to pull this off. I had to mix all of my clay, make all the work, build a booth, move my studio, and run a whole summer program for kids, make all the MOFGA mugs, AND spend some quality time with my kids as well. All I can say is that I have some incredible friends. Everyone pitched in and somehow it all miraculously came together. Big thanks to Brian Alexander of Red Oak Construction for building that booth, Donna Colucci for showing me how to organize my calendar, Wendy Martins for help in the studio, my apprentices, Jrai Mendall, Isabella Pignattello (sp?), and Monica Gilbert, Not to forget August Hagen for all of his vibrant energy and healthy young back! Ok I sound like i won a grammy, but seriously…Mom- you rock! Wayne Ladner you are my best cheerleader and head engineer. My kids even pitched in and priced, wrapped pots, and Hazel ran my checkout station like a pro, she’s 10 years old. Thank you!!!! The best part of the weekend was all the great feedback I got from people who don’t even know me. That felt sooooo good to have people smile and enjoy my work. I am feeling very wealthy from all the love. I was also able to apply for the Maine Crafts Guild and secure a spot in their November 5-6 show at the Maine State Museum. That feels good to be approved of by such a talented group of artisans. So, all in all the fair was a huge success. I now have the booth built so it should theoretically be easier next time. I was painting and hanging lights right up to the wire this year. Phew! I need some new pics up here don’t I? OK, let’s see if I can remember how to do this….. Thanks again!
OK, pics are in. Liz Proffetty, my clay buddy and support, also had a great weekend. We’ve both applied for bigger and better shows- Craft Boston and the Smithsonian Craft Show. So we’ll see where this goes, but for now we are still potters (I thought seriously about applying for a job at Lowe’s there for a minute) and loving all the hardwork and most of all the positive feedback. We thrive on that stuff!

Leave a Reply

