hospice interview

I dropped off my application and had my interview with hospice today. It went well and as I answered the question “So why do you want to do hospice?” I realized that I was actually meant to do this work. It just took me a while to get here. I start my training the first week in May and I am looking forward to it. I know it’s not all that culturally acceptable to be excited about death and grief, but I am happy to be of service to people who need support while they grieve. So to answer that question “why?” it’s because I never had the chance to grieve and I want to help create a world where talking about death and just being with the intense emotions of grief is acceptable and encouraged. It’s not a popular topic and far too many people are afraid of it. I guess I see my role as helping to make it approachable. I’d like to pass on my creative coping skills to people in my community to make a difference in the way they process these heavy emotions. Let’s face it, everyone we know will die. Why shouldn’t we be able to incorporate grieving into our culture? So how do I utilize all of the work I have been doing in grad school? Do you suppose there is a gallery out there just dying (ha) for my work? Hell, I read books on grief in my spare time. What else would I do? This avenue will open up for me. I don’t know exactly how yet, but why else am I drawn to this work? I can’t wait to see what happens.

Leave a Reply

